Restaurant Schäferstube

Traditional Valais speciality restaurant in Zermatt

Typical Tradition Julen: In this cosy speciality Restaurant in the centre of the village of Zermatt, you can taste the history and the attachment to the homeland in every dish. Raclette, cheese and meat fondue, Zermatt lamb specialities from the wood-fired grill promise authentic Valaisian enjoyment of the highest quality. The decision is hard to make when you look at the menu? Tip: In Valais, raclette is also a popular starter!

Cosy restaurant in a central location

The ambience in the Restaurant Schäferstube is incomparable: pure cottage charm - unsurpassed in authenticity and tradition in Zermatt. Here you will experience the genuine, original Matterhorn village and, in addition to really good food, the hospitality of the Tradition Julen Team.

After dinner, enjoy a drink in the cosy bar of the Romantik Hotel Julen, just one floor above the Restaurant Schäferstube. Fancy a beer in the Pub? Directly opposite is the Papperla Pub, which is also part of the Tradition Julen and guarantees party atmosphere. Do you prefer an excellent glass of wine and a cigar? With pleasure! The Cigar Lounge of the Hotel Alpenhof Zermatt is only a short walk away from the Restaurant Schäferstube.

Meat of the highest quality or from our own breeding

If you are interested in the origin of the meat served in the Restaurant Julen and the Restaurant Schäferstube, visit the family Julen’s farm. Let us introduce you to the breeding of the Valais black-nose sheep and the tradition of the Evolen cows. Paul and Paul-Marc Julen look forward to sharing their passion for animals and nature with you and will also be happy to show you the farm's own biogas plant of the Tradition Julen Zermatt.

Restaurant Schäferstube - Riedstrasse 2 - CH-3920 Zermatt - Schweiz
Tel +41 27 966 76 00
tradition@julen.ch

Opening hours: 

Monday 18:00–23:00
Tuesday 18:00–23:00
Wednesday 18:00–23:00
Thursday 18:00–23:00
Friday 18:00–23:00
Saturday 18:00–23:00
Sunday 18:00–23:00

It doesn’t get any better! Cosy alpine hut atmosphere with excellent food. An exceptional treat for lamb lovers!

Book your table

Restaurant Schäferstube

Traditionelles Walliser Spezialitäten-Restaurant in Zermatt

Typisch Tradition Julen: In diesem gemütlichen Spezialitäten-Restaurant im Dorfkern von Zermatt schmeckt man die Geschichte und die Heimatverbundenheit bei jedem Gericht. Raclette, Käse- und Fleischfondue sowie Zermatter Lammspezialitäten vom Holzofengrill versprechen echten Walliser Genuss in höchster Qualität. Die Entscheidung fällt beim Blick in die Speisekarte schwer? Tipp: Im Wallis isst man Raclette gerne auch als Vorspeise!

Gemütliches Restaurant an zentraler Lage

Das Ambiente im Restaurant Schäferstube ist unvergleichlich: Hüttencharme pur – an Authentizität und Tradition in Zermatt unübertroffen. Hier erleben Sie das echte, ursprüngliche Matterhorndorf und nebst richtig gutem Essen auch die Gastfreundschaft des Tradition Julen Teams.

Geniessen Sie nach dem Abendessen einen Drink in der gemütlichen Bar des Romantik Hotel Julen, nur eine Etage über dem Restaurant Schäferstube. Lust auf ein Bier im Pub? Direkt gegenüber liegt das Papperla Pub, welches ebenfalls zur Tradition Julen gehört und Party-Stimmung garantiert. Sie bevorzugen ein hervorragendes Glas Wein und eine Zigarre? Gerne! Die Cigar-Lounge des Hotel Alpenhof Zermatt liegt nur einen kurzen Spaziergang vom Restaurant Schäferstube entfernt.

Fleisch von höchster Qualität oder eigener Zucht

Wenn Sie sich für die Herkunft des Fleisches interessieren, welches im Restaurant Julen und im Restaurant Schäferstube serviert wird, besuchen Sie den Landwirtschaftsbetrieb der Familie Julen. Lassen Sie sich einführen in die Zucht der Walliser Schwarznasenschafe und die Tradition der Evolener Kühe. Paul und Paul-Marc Julen freuen sich, Ihnen ihre Leidenschaft für die Tiere und die Natur näher bringen zu dürfen und zeigen Ihnen gerne auch die betriebseigene Biogasanlage der Tradition Julen Zermatt.

Restaurant Schäferstube - Riedstrasse 2 - CH-3920 Zermatt - Schweiz
Tel +41 27 966 76 00
tradition@julen.ch

Öffnungszeiten: 

Montag 18:00–23:00
Dienstag 18:00–23:00
Mittwoch 18:00–23:00
Donnerstag 18:00–23:00
Freitag 18:00–23:00
Samstag 18:00–23:00
Sonntag 18:00–23:00

 

Besser geht nicht! Gemütliche Hüttenatmosphäre mit bestem Essen.Wer Lamm liebt, bekommt hier eine ganz besondere Qualität!

Tischreservation