• Koche Hubert Konig web

Head chef Hubert Koenig

Hubert Koenig is 46 years old and has been a chef for 28 years. So apart from his flair and sensitivity, Hubert brings lots of experience with him and has been cooking for Tradition Julen since 2009. Cooking at 2,200 m. above sea level demands a certain amount of flexibility, which presents a challenge now and then for our Restaurant Stafelalp head chef – a challenge that he relishes! His strong point of being able to keep his cool comes in very handy sometimes! The Frenchman just says „Dabord la reflexion – puis l’action!“ to himself and his team in such hectic situations. Just as he enjoys a challenge, he also enjoys being able to pamper guests who take time to sit together and enjoy each other’s company and some excellent food. His motto suits „Be nice to everyone you meet along your way because when you have a fall you will be bound to meet them again“.

Hubert Koenig is somewhat of a sporting ace, having completed the Zermatt Marathon 10 times. His humour, personal drive and easy-going disposition motivates everyone in Tradition Julen and in particular his Stafelalp team. He has a great rapport with all of his staff, which can surely be felt by his guests too.

Profile

Hubert König, head chef
Restaurant Stafelalp

Native place:
Berrwiler in Elsass, France

Zodiac sign:

Aquarius

Hobbies:
Sport, photography and travelling

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

What is special about the Stafelalp menu?
The combination of traditional and modern styles. Lots of our guests visit us again and again because of our selected specialities of the house.

And they are?
Planche Gourmande, Hot Stone , Tarte Tatin

What is so great about being a chef?
The challenge of producing top quality meals for our guests, day in day out.

Which daily challenge is the toughest at Stafelalp?
Being ready when our guests come – regardless of the most difficult of weather conditions! A challenge that must be met again and again when you want to pamper your guests at 2'200 meters above sea level!

Which is your all-time-favourite ingrediant when cooking?
Fresh herbs!

What is your favourite meal when you are at home?
I only go home to sleep.

Which is your favourite speciality from Valais? 
Mountain cheese and white wine soup.

What would you be, if not a chef?
Psychologist.

What do you associate with the word „Zermatt“?
The story of my life...

• Koche Hubert Konig web

Chef de cuisine Hubert Koenig

Hubert Koenig a 46 ans et exerce le métier de cuisinier depuis 28 ans. Outre son flair et son doigté aux fourneaux, il jouit d’une grande expérience. Ce français cuisine depuis 2009 pour Tradition Julen. Cuisiner à 2'200 mètres d’altitude exige beaucoup de flexibilité. Il s’agit à chaque fois d’un défi pour le chef de cuisine du restaurant Stafelalp, mais un défi qu’il adore. Sa force : garder son calme, ce qui lui vient toujours à point nommé. „D‘abord la réflexion – puis l’action!“ c’est sa devise et celle de son équipe lors de situations de stress. Il aime autant que le défi faire plaisir aux hôtes qui prennent le temps de s’asseoir ensemble à une table pour savourer. La devise qui l’accompagne sur son chemin lui va comme un gant: „Soyez gentil avec tous les gens que vous rencontrez. Car si tu devais une fois tomber, tu es sûr de tous les retrouver.“    

Hubert Koenig, un grand mordu de sports –a déjà effectué le Marathon de Zermatt à 10 reprises – il représente pour la Tradition Julen et spécialement pour son équipe du Stafelalp chaque jour un véritable remontant. Par sa façon joviale et amusante, il sait motiver son équipe et les hôtes le ressentent également.

Portrait

Hubert König, chef de cuisine
Restaurant Stafelalp

Originaire de:
Berrwiler en Alsace, France

Signe du zodiaque:

Verseau

Loisirs:
Le sport, la photography et les voyages

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

Qu’est-ce qui caractérise l’offre culinaire du Stafelalp?
C’est la combinaison de la cuisine traditionnelle et moderne. De nombreux clients viennent pour nos délicieuses spécialités de la maison.

Lesquelles par exemple?
La planche gourmande, les mets sur pierre chaude, la tarte Tatin

Qu’est-ce qui rend si intéressant le métier de cuisinier?
Le défi de pouvoir fournir au quotidien des services de qualité optimale à nos clients.

Quel est le meilleur défi quotidien à Stafelalp?
D’être prêt quand les clients arrivent. Et cela même dans des conditions météorologiques les plus difficiles – lesquelles doivent être constamment maîtrisées lorsque l’on sert la clientèle à 2’200 mètres d’altitude.

Quel est ton ingrédient favori dans la cuisine?
Les herbes fraîches !

Quel est ton plat préféré à la maison?
Je rentre seulement chez moi pour dormir!

Quelle est ta spécialité valaisanne préférée?
Le fromage de montagne et la soupe au vin blanc.

Quel métier exerces-tu si tu n’étais pas cuisinier?
Psychologue.

Que représente spontanément pour toi le mot „Zermatt“?
The story of my life...